Mixtape Monday: Treasure Island Music Lineup

My amazing man was generous enough to purchase me a ticket to this years Treasure Island Music Festival as a very awesome birthday present and I have been just FREAKING OUT because the lineup for the day we are going is crazy good. So, because I am crazy impatient and obsessive, I put together a little mix tape of the bands I’m dyeing to see this Sunday. So here you go, and for those of you who don’t get to go sit on the grass and listen to music in the warm San Francisco sunshine this weekend…be jealous. Be very, very jealous.
Artist: Hospitality
Song: Friend of Friends
These cats hit the stage around 12:40 over on the Tunnel Stage, fairly early in the lineup for sunday, but I’m still pretty stoked to see them. Lead vocalist and guitarist, Amber Papini has that odd sort of sweet, twee sounding voice that plays well on dreamy, gauzy harmonies, like in Argonauts, but also spins really well on more fun, poppy tunes, such as Friends of Friends, the video for which stars Alia Shawkat of Arrested Development awesomeness and has been included for your listening/viewing pleasure/amusement.
Artist: The War on Drugs
Song: Come to the City
These guys are awesome. This video also actually sums up how they make me feel. Hailing from Philidelphia, PA their heavily Americana-influenced tunes remind me of the endless summers and wonders of being young. Riding through the orange light at dusk, pumping Springsteen and Petty into the humid, heavy air. These guys begin producing nostalgia inducing jams around 1:25 at the Bridge Stage.
Artist: Wild Belle
Song: Backslider
2:05 on the Tunnel Stage, Brother-Sister duo, Natalie and Elliot Bergman make some awesome, chilled-out dance tunes that you can’t help but groove to.
Artist: Ty Segall
Song: People These Days
I’ve been into Ty Segall for a minute, a guy took me to see him a while back and he put on one hell of a show. I’ll never forget him flinging himself into the audience along with his mic stand, drenched in sweat and wailing his lungs out. The crowd was ecstatic, and, even though he totally kicked me in the head while he crowd surfed, I was pretty stoked myself. Catching him at 3:35 on the Tunnel Stage for sure.
Artist: Johanna Newsome
Song: The Book of Right On

My dear friend, Amanda, turned me on to Johanna Newsome about two years ago, and her weird, little girl voice and insane harp-shredding have enraptured me ever since. This song in particular makes little shivers go up and down my spine, and the story behind the song “Monkey and Bear” is so sad and beautiful. I’m excited to witness her beautiful story telling and incredible musicianship for the first time at 4:20 on the Bridge Stage.

Artist: Best Coast
Song: The Only Place

These guys are like, the ultimate Cali Music. Their fun, surf-pop infused songs are perfect for the West Coasts endless summer and definitely get me jonesing for the beach. These guys are from LA and have been around since 2009 and will be gracing the stage in SF at around 6 on the Bridge Stage.

Artist: Devine Fits
Song: Would That Not Be Nice

Divine Fits are a super group of sorts, with members from both Spoon and Wolf Parade, and their first year off the ground seems to be going well with a world tour and a couple of festivals both in the States and Abroad lined up. They take the Tunnel stage around 6:45pm.

Artist: The Gossip
Song: Heavy Cross
I’m not really sure if The Gossip needs any introducing. I mean, lead singer, Beth Ditto is a force of nature almost as powerful as Hurricane Sandy, but for those of you who haven’t discovered these guys yet, please, listen and learn. I’m clearly a big fan of The Gossip, and their really the band I’m most stoked to see this weekend, since their new album, A Joyful Noise, was released in May and this song is probably on the set list.
Artist: M83
Song: We Own The Sky

This French electronic band, and this song in particular, were kind of inescapable in 2008. This song featured in Travis Rice’s epic snowboarding film, That’s It That’s All (which is insane, by the way, and you should check it out). They should be fun to check out towards the end of the evening on the Bridge Stage.

It should be an awesome day, with beautiful weather in the forecast, and I’m so excited to check out some of these bands for the first time on stage. Hope to see you there!

Leave a comment