inspiration | i tie no weights to my ankles

You will find that it is necessary to let things go; simply for the reason that they are heavy by rocketrictic on flickr

 

image by rocketrictic

it is not easy, letting things go, but I’m beginning to realize that carrying all these old hurts around with me has left me buried in the mud up to my thighs. i’m starting to set them aside, but it’s hard not to mull over them as i begin to untangle the heavy ropes binding them to me. there’s a lot of pain in a life. there’s a lot of disappointment. and sometimes it’s easier to focus on those things; those epic wounds, those brutal battles. sometimes, it’s not even easy, sometimes it’s just all you can see. sometimes it may seem as though these things define you. that they shape your life with their pressure, mold your world with their weight. i’m beginning to realize that the only way they can do this if you allow them to. that weight is on your shoulders because you refuse to shrug it off. you keep it there with ropes that bind you to your pain. all the things you are unwilling to forgive or forget. they only define you because you keep them close.

i am beginning to unravel all the stings I have attached. the things keeping me tied to these ancient grudges. i hope in cutting them free i will find some peace.

4 thoughts on “inspiration | i tie no weights to my ankles

  1. Purging is freeing. We learn from our history, it makes us wiser or stronger. Wallowing in it just leaves us vacant. It is time to make a new history for our selves. Everyday is a chance for something wonderful to replace those old hurts and disappointments.

  2. This is also something I’ve been working on lately. I am similar, in that it is so hard for me to let things go. Glad to hear that you are starting to figure out how to let things go, I hope I can follow your example.

Leave a Reply

