Brain Clutter | 12.07.2013

  • I’m a huge fan of Studio Ghibli and in particular, the work of Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke) and the elaborate, fantastic worlds he creates in his films. The Wind Rises (originally titled Kaze Tachino) is to be his farewell to film making as he enters retirement. Though the trailer doesn’t reveal much other than the stunning artwork and beautiful score, the film follows the life of Jiro Horikoshi, a man who designed fighter planes for Japans military during World War II. Imbued with the usual sense of wonder that accompanies any Studio Ghibli/Miyazaki work, I can’t wait for this to be released stateside in February.
  • For those of you who don’t know, I ditched my car about 4 years ago. Aside from it being hugely expensive and unreliable, I chose to go carless because I genuinely believe in the importance of public transportation and it’s necessity to ensuring our world remains a beautiful, livable place. This awesome GIF of how public transportation can reduce traffic congestion is also a pretty strong argument for ditching your whip for a bike or a bus.
  • And in transportation related news, apparently Japan wants to sell the US that hyper-fast levitating train thing they have over there. You know, the one that could reduce the three hour commute from Washington DC to New York City to just an hour. The Maglev train tops out at about 315 miles per hour, which makes it slower than Elon Musk’s Hyper Loop (which can supposedly cruise along at around 600mph) but, with Japan offering to kick in the cost of 40 miles of the US route, it might be the one we see come to fruition first.
  • In a similar vein, this article/story by NPR on the evolution of the sharing movement
  • So, I don’t know about you, but most of my first dates consist of semi-awkward small talk over some form of sustenance. Pretty standard stuff. So you can pretty much color me jealous of what just might be the most epic date ever, let alone an OkCupid one. Jeff and Clara met online, set a date, and then plunged headlong into a whirlwind tour of eight countries in 21 days. Without changing clothes. Read the full, surreal adventure as lived and recounted by Clara Bensen over on Salon.
  • This incredible series of portraits of the worlds most remote tribes, as captured by photographer Jimmy Nelson.
  • Ladies, now there is no excuse not to protect your dome while pedaling fashionably about your city. The Swedish have done it! The clever design ladies behind Hövding, Anna Haupt and Terese Alstin of the aforementioned Scandinavian country, designed an invisible bike helmet that protects your precious cranium in a way that is remarkably obvious, and surprisingly stylish once you see it in action.
  • We might finally get some new lady super heroes from the folks over at Marvel and DC. Halleluja!
  • This article in NYmag about how important it is to court your friends. Gotta admit, I sorta suck at this.

In other news, I’ve been trying to get a head start on my new years resolutions. I’ve been thinking a lot about where I want to go with my life in the next few years. What I want, how I want to get there, and what I have to do in order to. I’m anxious, worried about my tendency to self sabotage and procrastinate, thus I am taking early action. I’ll be updating you all soon about what my plans are. Stay tuned, it should get interesting!

Leave a Reply

